Pentathlon update

I had my second attempt at kettlebell pentathlon this evening, and it went pretty well! I had a look at the numbers beforehand to figure out what kind of reps I needed to hit to level up and it didn’t seem to be too much of an ask, so I went for it.
My numbers for the clean, longcycle press, jerk, half snatch and push press were…

20110912-224943.jpg
You’ll need to excuse the shoddy handwriting; my forearms were too pumped to hold the pen well!
I’m really pleased with that score, especially since it represents a move into the ‘high’ category. It’s clear that I need to lift more for the first two exercises since I reached max reps with time to spare – 16kg is going to feel like a big jump though (there wasn’t a pro-16kg available today or I probably would have tried it). The reps will certainly go down, but if I can achieve three quarters of my 12kg reps with the 16kg my score will be the same. I think that’s do-able for cleans and longcycle, though it’ll certainly make the rest of the lifts harder!
I’m likely to be sore for a couple of days, so I’ll make sure workouts for the rest of the week have a different focus, and maybe try pentathlon again at the weekend. It’s been a while since I enjoyed a workout this much – I think the mix of physical and mental perseverance is just what I needed 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 06:59:49

    Well done, Nancy! Ive done this three times now and still finishing early on cleans and lc presses! FWIW go to 16kg on the cleans( 60pts), but not LC press yet(only 30pts), try and maxrep the later exercises, then look at upping the jerks to 16kg maybe? I reckon *you* can get out of “high”, but the 120pts I need is a big jump for me (60 reps @ 0.5). Bet you try it again before next weekend 😉

    Reply

    • Nancy K
      Sep 13, 2011 @ 09:29:24

      If I can you can, Dave! I need another 160-odd points to reach ‘extreme’, which is a big ask based on how I felt at the end of yesterday’s attempt.
      And I actually have no time to do it again before the weekend, so that ain’t gonna happen! Though I kind of wish I could go again today, if I’m honest 🙂

      Reply

  2. Dave
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 13:05:38

    Yeah, know what you mean. If you “like numbers” (if you know what I mean) and kettlebells, then this is a great workout. Last week I did it on Wednesday, Friday and Sunday, increasing each time, but my arms were very tired by the Sunday night. May go again tomorrow (Wednesday), but we’ll see … 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

