Comp-grade kettlebells

After stupidly long and drawn-out saga, the OH and I have finally taken delivery of two pairs of competition-grade kettlebells, aka professional grade bells.  That is, the type what are cast steel rather than iron, and every bell no matter the weight has exactly the same shape and size.

They’re so pretty!

OH has gotten straight into doing double jerks with his pair of 24kg bells.  I’ve been doing double swings with my 16kgs, and it is a whole other world!  The size of the bells means I have to radically alter my stance, i.e. stand about 2 feet wider than usual, and consequently lose a lot of power.  But it’s a great challenge,  and very satisfying to do something so different.

I’ve also been doing a few renegade rows, since I’ve never had a pair of bells stable enough before.  Wow.  And ouch.  No more needs to be said!

Leave a Reply

