Bits & Bobs

I’ve had a lot of disjointed things I wanted to blog about lately, but none of them actually significant enough to write about on their own.  So, ladies and gentlemen, I give you the dreaded “list of random crap” blog post!  You know you love it.

I made granola yesterday.  I’ve only ever had granola bars in the past, and while they’re very tasty they’re incredibly hard to eat.  As soon as you take a bit the whole thing seems to shatter into a million pieces, which duly scatter themselves over everything in your immediate vicinity.  Granola down the cleavage is an itchy experience, let me tell you.  The homemade variety however is a different kettle of fish, as it turns out more like a breakfast cereal – and indeed me and the OH both had it for breakfast this morning with a big blob of natural yoghurt.  It was absolutely yummy, and packed full of good things.  Apart from the basic oats/honey/maple syrup, we added sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, linseeds, chopped pecans, and dried cranberries.

I didn’t get the job I applied for last week, which really bummed me out at the time but is totally cool with me now.  I emailed for feedback and was told that I’m fabulous, wonderful, almost godess-like (well, not quite), but they went for a guy who had more experience.  I was second choice, and given that it was my first job interview in about 5 years, I’m pretty happy with that.

I’ve applied for a few more since then, and one of them has really dug its way into my brain and won’t leave.  It’s well paid, locally based, uses my degree (I’m a biological scientist by training), and takes advantage of my ability to totally lose track of time while messing with spreadsheets, databases, and anything similar.  Not that I know much about them you understand, but something about messing on with them engages the “time has no meaning” part of my brain, and I forget to eat and sleep.  Applications closed on the 10th, so I’m hoping I’ll hear pretty soon if I’ve got an interview.

My friend had a baby last week.  His name is Finlay James, and he’s the most gorgeous baby – and I’m not just saying that!  Must find job quickly – need one years’ service somewhere so I can get full maternity pay and start pumping out sprogs 😉

Leave a Reply

