Catch-up

Wow, how did it get to be a week since I last posted?  What a week – busy busy.

I spent the weekend in London at a Killers concert in Hyde Park.  Fantastic time!  It also forced me to have 2 whole rest days in a row (unless driving counts as training, it’s certainly tiring enough), which can only be a good thing.  My weights are still increasing slowly but surely, and I’m starting to feel really confident in all the exercises.

I’m now almost exactly half way through stage 1 of the New Rules of Lifting for Women, and enjoying it hugely. My latest workout looked like this:

  • Squats: 3×8, 50kg, 52.5, 52.5.
  • Push up: 3×8.  Finding it hard to progress my pushups, though I’m using a lower box for short sets now, probably more like 20 degrees than 30.
  • Seated row: 3×8 50kg, 55, 60.
  • Step up: 3×8/8. 10kg dumbbells.
  • Jacknives: 3×15. Actual reps: 8, 7, 9+6

Although I didn’t actually manage all my reps with the jacknives, that’s the exercise I’m proudest of.  I’ve struggled with them since I started this program, so to do that many feels GREAT!  Next time I do this workout it’ll be back to 2 sets of 8 reps, and I’m hoping to do every rep, every time from now on.  I have to be honest and say that I had to modify them slightly; the swiss ball was next to a wall for extra stability, and there was a lot more shin resting on it than I’d strictly like.  But I’m still stupidly proud!  There’s plenty time to work on getting my form exactly where I want it to be.

Things are looking up in other areas of life too – I have a job interview next Thursday for a role that sounds pretty great for me; 3 days a week of reception and admin work.  It’s a world away from what I’m trained to do (I’m really a biologist!) but I’ve struggled for so long now with depression and anxiety that the chance to ease myself back into the working world with something that’s challenging in a different way is a welcome one.  Taking control of my training was step one in acheiving a more balanced me, this is step two.  Wish me luck 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 22:20:15

    Great job on the workout! The jackknives will keep getting easier, I promise.

    I love the Killers. I’ve used “Mr Brightside” on so many of my spinning playlists that I almost can’t stand to hear it any more. Now “Shadowplay” is on heavy rotation.

    I’m so sorry about the depression and anxiety–I was a sufferer for years, and only really turned things around when I got on medication. It’s such hell, isn’t it? When the depression finally lifted it was like the scene in “The Wizard of Oz” when Dorothy steps out of Auntie Em’s house into Munchkinland and suddenly the world is in Glorious Technicolor instead of black and white. Anyway, good luck with easing yourself back into the workforce! I hope the people turn out to be friendly and wonderful 🙂

    Reply

  2. Nancy K
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 12:31:22

    Thanks so much for your kind words, Laura, it means so much! I remember a time not so long ago where even stepping into the gym reduced me to a quivering wreck, so being able to train the way I do now – and consider going back to work – is a really massive thing for me.

    My OH has also used Mr Brightside an awful lot in spin! He’s also used Somebody Told Me, but seeing them perform live on a gorgeous summer evening – spin’s got nothing on that! I even lost my voice for a few hours afterward from singing (screaming) along 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

