New Rules, Day 1

Finally!  It feels like I’ve been waiting for weeks, but my copy of the New Rules of Lifting for Women arrived yesterday.  I read the whole thing  before bedtime (except exercise descriptions – will get to those as and when needed!) and was determined to start ASAP – which meant this morning!

Stage 1, workout A is pretty straightforward.  Not easy, but straightforward; squats, push-ups, rows, step-ups and jackknifes.  My weight selection was a little hit and miss but I had a great workout!

  • Squats – 50kg, set 1 15 reps, set 2 14 reps.  Not sure if my form was quite there – I maydrop the weight back to 45kg or so next time, just to be sure, or take advantage of the shorter sets to make sure my form is PERFECT.
  • Push-ups – 30 degree option, 2 x 15.  These were HARD!
  • Seated row – 15 reps at 30kg, then 15 reps at 40kg.  I actually put 20kg on the stack when I first sat down, but after 1 or 2 reps it was clearly too light so I increased it and started again.  Next time I want to start at 45kg.
  • Step ups – holding 2 dumbbells, 10kg each, 2 sets of 15 reps each leg.  Again, these were much harder than I expected, and I could barely finish the reps second time through.
  • Prone jackknifes – I had never done this exercise before, and had no idea how hard it would hit my entire core.  I mis-read my notes and did 12 first set with pretty bad form – the ball was far too close to my knees.  Second set was much better, but I only managed 6 reps out of the 8 demanded.  Definitely one to work on!

I felt great at the end – I had worked hard (and left a little puddle of sweat on the mat as proof), but I wasn’t totally wrecked.  I really enjoyed the alternating sets (push-ups/seated rows and step-ups/jackknifes) and the fact that I got a total body workout in about 25 minutes.  I know that’s entirely possible (and even preferable) with kettlebells, but I’ve never followed a structured program with those….and tend to keep going for a good 40 minutes because I’m having fun!

I’m meant to rest tomorrow, but I’m not sure my brain can process that thought.  I may take part in OH’s body pump class as a kind of active recovery, or have a very light kettlebell workout.  Next NROL4W session: Saturday morning, workout B.  Can’t wait!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy Sommer, RKC
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 14:44:23

    Sounds like a great workout. So many people don’t follow a structured workout w/ kettlebells and I’m not sure why. I rarely do a “freestyle” workout anymore. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 14:51:07

    Nancy, I’m so psyched for you to start this program. Will be watching your progress with great interest! But believe them when they say REST!! Your progress will be hindered if you don’t, and you’ll risk overtraining. HIIT would be ok on off days but no lifting. Enjoy!!

    Reply

    • Nancy K
      Jun 22, 2009 @ 14:06:28

      Sarah, I read your comment the day you posted, thought “hmm, I really should listen to her – she’s done it after all!” and rested on Friday. Then managed to totally forget it and had my usual Sunday morning group fitness blow-out. I should have remembered your advice! I’m totally out of it today, and having to put off my scheduled New Rules workout til tomorrow. Oops!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

