New Rules & kettlebells

Finally – my copy of the New Rules of Lifting for Women arrived today.  I’ve already read a couple of chapters, and really enjoying Lou Schuler’s unique style of writing.  The comic touch helps all his excellent points hit home, and stick that little bit easier.  I’m looking forward to finishing the book and starting the most important part – the workouts.

Meanwhile, I’ve been training much as usual the last few days.  Yesterday consisted of a spin class first thing (OH’s regular Tuesday morning), then a kettlebell session later on.  KB training consisted of:

  • 5 x 20 swings, double-handed. 20kg.
  • 5 x 5/5 bottoms-up presses, 8kg.  These are HARD!  I know it’s silly to do ‘small’ exercises first, but I fatigue too quickly to do them later.
  • 5 sets of  2 single-hand swings & 2 high pulls with the 20kg.  I really want to improve my snatches with the lighter bells and since we don’t have the equipment (YET!) to do double-bell work, I’m going for the big weights. My grip won’t tolerate more high pulls with the 20kg – yet.
  • 2 x 5/5 windmills, 16kg.

I really enjoy Tuesday night kettlebell class.  It can mean a lot of compromises with equipment – if we have 3 women turn up needing to use only 2 ‘ladies size’ bells (the 8kg and 12kg), things can get a bit sticky.  But the experience of working out in an environment of friendly support and encouragement is totally worth it.

OH is hoping to start some form of kettlebell club soon.  There’s already one in the region that we don’t want to compete with, just encourage more people to get lifting.  It will probably be called Northern Kettlebells, and he’s already in correspondance with a guy who runs a very successful fitness business and who is supplying lots of advice and support.

Watch this space 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Jun 17, 2009 @ 19:00:02

    So excited you got the book! You’ll have to tell me how it compares to NROL the original and which program you decide to do.

    Reply

    • Nancy K
      Jun 18, 2009 @ 12:58:35

      Well, I’ve gone with the New Rules for Women! No particular reason, it just seemed to make sense to do the program aimed at me first. It’s highly likely I’ll do the original New Rules program at some point too!
      As for the books, a lot of the content is very similar (boy, Lou Schuler HATES bicep curls!), though the actual ‘rules’ are different. The main thing I took from NROL was to educate men from not doing isolations; NROL4W tried to stop women starving themselves and doing endless cardio. Worth reading both, if you can find the New Rules cheaply!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

