My first New Rule

Having blasted through The New Rules of Lifting the other day, I find myself inspired.  I’ll be starting the actual program soon, but in the meantime I’ve taken one major idea from it; aim to set a new record every workout.  Seems like a sound idea to me!  So yesterday’s training looked like this:

  • 12kg kettlebell snatches, 5 minutes.  I managed 80 reps – a new personal best.
  • 5 x 5/5 dead cleans, 10 seconds rest between sets (12kg).
  • 4 x 1/1 TGU/windmills combo (16kg).  These were effectively one rep max sets.  They hurt.

I’ve given myself three weeks to reach 100 snatches in 5 minutes.  Tough, but doable.  After that, my twitter buddy Sandy Sommer has sent me some great tips on how to progress to snatching the 16kg bell for time.  Watch this space 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 15:41:56

    Great work! I really like the New Rules idea of trying to up the intensity every workout by increasing weight or volume, or cutting down on rest time. I think for purposes of building absolute strength it’s probably best to focus on adding weight whenever possible; on the other hand adding volume and decreasing rest periods probably has more carryover to your kettlebell training.

    Reply

  2. Nancy K
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 10:31:17

    The idea is to progress to the 16kg as soon as humanly possible! But I have this burning desire to reach the RKC 100 snatches in 5 minutes…irrational, but I WILL do it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

