The New Rules of Lifting

I have my Twitter buddies to thank for my latest obsession, particularly @laurapasik and @strongsarah.  There’s a very well respected book in weight-lifting circles, called The New Rules of Lifting by Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove.  Sarah alerted me to the fact that there’s also a women’s version, and put the idea of getting back into some serious lifting into the back of my mind.  A conversation with Laura made me think “why wait to find a copy of the women’s book?” and go get my fiancé’s copy of the New Rules off the bookshelf.

I read it in one sitting.  Well, I tell a lie, I had to go to bed (even serious iron monkeys sleep sometimes) before I finished the sections on the pull and the twist, but I at least flipped through those and looked at the pictures 😉

It’s made me want to start the program as soon as I can.  I need to find a way to incorporate some kettlebell work  into it, because I would miss the bells too much if I stopped cold turkey, but @laurapasik has already given me some great ways to do that and I’m sure me and my tweeps can come up with more.

So I am sorely tempted to start this on Monday; New rules, new me….

PS, watch this space.  While finding a link to the New Rules on Amazon, I noticed a marketplace seller had the New Rules for Women listed for £5.  I couldn’t resist….

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Greenteagirl
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 14:30:34

    I just found your blog through Strong Sarah’s website! I just started NROL4W last week. Maybe we can support one another? I have been blogging about my experiences. I love the program so far and I believe Alwyn Cosgrove is a genius at program design. Best of luck!

    Reply

    • Nancy K
      Jun 06, 2009 @ 17:25:29

      You’re ahead of me Julie! I’ve read NROL and already put some of its philosophy into practice (set a new record every workout, etc) but NROL4W has to get all the way to me in the UK, from the US! But I’ll definitely be askiing you for tips – you’ll be just far enough ahead to be useful! 😀 Could you give me a link to your blog?

      Reply

      • Julie
        Jun 07, 2009 @ 00:27:37

        Here’s my blog http://green-tea-girl.blogspot.com I’ve only read NROL4W not the original NROL so unfortunately I couldn’t be more helpful in giving you a better sense of whether you should wait for NROL4W to come in the mail :). Best of luck whatever you decide. I will be visiting your blog!

  2. Laura
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 16:29:27

    Alwyn really IS a genius! I’ve been a fan ever since the original NROL came out. In some ways I think NROL4W is an even better program. It’s not dumbed down, that’s for sure. The only real weakness from my point of view is that there’s only the one program, whereas the original NROL provides options for maximizing strength, hypertrophy and fat loss.

    The other thing I don’t love about either program is that there’s only the one HIIT formula: 1 minute of work/2 minutes of active recovery, lather rinse repeat 3-6 times 3-5 (or is it 6?) days per week depending on where you are in the program. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with that prescription as far as it goes, but my own personal belief is that it’s better to mix it up with other protocols–Tabata intervals, for instance. Or ballistic kettlebell drills for time, if you’re into kettlebells, or bodyweight power exercises such as squat jumps and burpees if you’re not.

    Actually, what I’m doing right now is sort of a hybrid of two Cosgrove-designed free weights workouts per week, two metabolic circuits on the TRX per week, and kettlebell practice per Enter The Kettlebell. Plus cycling, but only because I teach the class, plus ballet class 3x per week, but that’s because I’m insane. When I type it out like that it looks like a lot, but really it isn’t. Mostly it’s just a matter of 20 minutes here, a half-hour there. Anyway, so far so good, although once I’m further along with ETK I imagine I’ll need to cut back on the other strength training temporarily.

    Reply

    • Nancy K
      Jun 06, 2009 @ 17:28:52

      Laura you’re a maniac! My own program is less busy, and much less intense; 4 or 5 kettlebell sessions a week, 1 or 2 spins, and 1 or 2 body pumps. The group fitness classes are mainly for fun (and to spend time with my fiancé, who teaches them) – the kettlebell sessions are the ones that really give me that ‘kick’.
      I’ve not quite decided what to do yet; start the NROL break-in workouts on Monday, or wait til NROL4W turns up, read it and then decide what to do. I suspect it’ll come down to how impatient I am to start on Monday!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

