Help!

Ok peeps, here’s the deal.  My OH’s best friend is paying a surprise visit on Sunday afternoon – obviously a surprise to the OH, not me!  Best Friend lives a couple of hours drive away, and will be coming to our place in between checking out of his hotel and driving home.  So far, so lovely Sunday afternoon.

The problem is this; I am the least confident cook you have ever seen.  Seriously.  Cooking for people I don’t know reduces me to a little sweaty ball of stress, curled up and rocking gently in the corner of the kitchen.  So I somehow need to find up with a quick, delicious meal to feed to Best Friend (who I hardly know) and his girlfriend (who neither I nor OH has ever met).  This is made worse by the fact that OH teaches on a Sunday morning, so we’ll only be getting home 10 minutes before (or even after) Best Friend.

I could cry off morning classes (somehow) and make something I’m confident with (lasagne springs instantly to mind), but I do love my Sunday gym mornings!  So I’m throwing it open; any ideas for quick, simple and above all EASY recipes that I can whip up to wow Best Friend and his other half?  You could be saving my culinary pride!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    May 29, 2009 @ 21:27:40

    Lasagne is actually a great choice because you can assemble it the night before, then leave it in the fridge until an hour or so before you’re ready to eat. Round out the menu with a nice green salad and you’re good to go. If you’re nervous about cooking for company I think it’s best to stick with what you know–save the experimentation for times when it’s just you and the OH.

    Reply

    • Nancy K
      May 29, 2009 @ 21:30:36

      My word, you may have cracked it! The only trouble will be convincing the OH that a lasagne left in the fridge overnight is not to be touched, under pain of death!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

