Snatch test!

I had a great training session this morning – when I went for a sit down and something to drink afterwards, a friend asked if I’d just been spinning. I must have been one sweaty betty!

I wanted to work on my clean technique, so out came the 12kg and I managed 3 sets of 5 loaded cleans. I was wearing bandages round my wrists but my 12kg is just such a stupid shape, with a really shallow grip that it hits almost at the base of my hand. Bah. So I could only manage a few, but they were decent reps.

Then I went for the big time. The RKC snatch test has been hovering around the back of my mind for a while now, and though I knew I wouldn’t be able to finish it I gave it my best. The end result; 70 reps with the 12kg in 5 minutes, in batches of 20, 10, 10 , 10 & 20 It was my cardio that held me back much more than strength – the rests were purely to let my heart rate come down a little. Next time I’ll do 80!

Just because I could, I rounded it off with 5 sets of 5 clean & press. The last few barely went up but the sense of satisfaction was massive! The end result was a workout of 37 minutes, average heart rate 161 bpm (max was 196, yeowch) and 413 calories. And a very tired me

Leave a Reply

