Dietary habits

They say that when it comes to weight loss, it’s roughly 70% diet, 30% exercise. Which is probably why I struggle! I get plenty of exercise, and varied exercise at that, but I have little to no willpower when it comes to treats. Chocolate, sweets, crisps, cake, biscuits and just about anything with pastry on. Oh, and my home made lasagne isn’t exactly diet food.

So I just try to keep everything in moderation; I’ll record a couple of days worth of meals here, and see what they look like.

Yesterday:

  • Breakfast – muesli (and a lemsip, god they are foul)
  • Lunch – pre-packed salad from asda with ham and boiled eggs. Added some olive oil and balsamic vinegar, since the salad cream sachets they include make me gag
  • Snack – millie’s double choc cookie. Mmmmmm.
  • Tea – Chicken korma; lean chicken breast, asda’s good for you korma sauce, bit of onion, and asda’s own microwave brown rice.
  • Mid-evening – half a packet of angel delight. Made me feel about 5 again!

I think that was pretty reasonable. I also trained yesterday morning – 40 minutes or so of kettlebell work, which I guess would have been about 400 calories (forgot me heart rate monitor).

Today:

  • Breakfast – muesli, cup of tea, pressed apple juice.
  • Mid-morning – packet of teeny weeny carrots from Boots, surprisingly tasty.
  • Lunch – some breaded fish fillets (coley, I think) with a couple of Aunt Bessie’s potato croquets and some left over paxo stuffing. Was gorgeous!
  • Tea – My OH concocted something rather gorgeous; he fried off some lean chicken and veg in one pan while cooking some brown pasta in another. When everything was done he just dumped them into one pan, added a big dollop of natural yogurt and some red pesto and mixed it all through. Absolutely gorgeous.

All of the milk we use (in tea, muesli, etc) is semi-skimmed, and we do easy things like cutting off visible fat from our meat, but other than that we don’t go crazy. OH is avoiding bread and alcohol at the moment, but I’m far too weak to do that! As I’ve mentioned before we try to limit treats like chocolate to every other day, and uber-treats like pizzas etc once or twice a month.

It’s not the perfect diet, and we probably don’t get enough fresh fruit and veg. We do try to drink plenty of water though – there’s always a glass on the table, and we’ll share it til it’s gone. Then we bicker to see who refills it We also try to have dinner fairly early, between 5pm and 6pm. I’m not sure how much truth there is to the theory that if you eat late in the day you store more of it as fat, but I definitely don’t sleep as well on a full stomach.

I’ll probably keep posting occasional food diaries, and I’ll try to keep it pretty random so that my bad days are catalogued as well as my virtuous ones

Leave a Reply

