Kettlebells and skin removal

Kettlebell snatch session this morning.  There’s a semi-mythical “5 ladders of 5” rule when it comes to kettlbell snatches; if you can perform 5 ladders of 5 reps, you need a heavier bell.  That is, you do 1 rep each hand, rest a few seconds.  Then 2 reps, then 3, 4 & 5.  Then you rest a couple of minutes and do it again….a total of 5 times.

This seemed totally out of reach to me, even with ickle 12kg bell but this morning I just blasted it out.  It was too knee dominant, my technique was a bit sloppy, but I bloody well did it!  Trouble is, my 12kg bell is badly made, with a 2mm ‘lip’ under the grip which makes it harder than usual on the hands.  I knew I’d pay for it, but some time in the 5th set of 5 reps my technique must have got [I]really[/I] sloppy, and I’m now missing a large chunk of skin from the palm of my right hand, and another from the side of my thumb.

I thought the shower would knack, but it was actually ok – even with hot water and shampoo getting in there.

The savlon however….:eek:

So the good news?  I get to abandon the 12kg bell when it comes to snatches, and save my poor aching hands.  The bad news?  I have to attempt to use the 16kg.  My poor aching muscles….

Leave a Reply

